Former Arsenal XI

9 07 2012

I was sat at home last night wallowing in self pity over the looming prospect of losing our captain and best player for what feels like the millionth season running.  Well maybe it isn’t exactly like that but it is certainly how it feels sometimes!

I decided that the best thing to do would be to play a little game with myself, no nothing like that ;). I decided to try and field the best XI I could dream up based on players that Arsenal have either sold or released in recent years.

The only rules I obeyed were that it had to be a 4-3-3 as that is what we are currently playing and all players have to currently have footballer as their job description.

Below is my attempt, I would be interested to see what others amongst you come up with

football formation

 

Not too shabby really, whilst it might not be a team that would win you the Champions League it would have a good go at competing!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 07 2012
pullsarabbitfromthehat

I’m not an Arsenal fan but this is my attempt. Not the easiest task in the world!

Almunia

Eboue, Gallas, Upson, Cole

Larsson, Diarra, Fabregas

Henry, Adebayor, Reyes/Baptista

12 07 2012
Tom Webster

Like where you went with Reyes/Baptista.

I was always more than a little dissapointed that neither of them made it with the Gunners.

Keeper was the tough one for me to fill. I can’t really bring myself to say that Almunia is the best of anything!

Guess I could have gone with Richard Wright but he isn’t too much of an improvement if any.

Leave a Reply

