How to make your own Hummus

1 11 2010

Sometimes I  struggle here in Ireland, I really do. One of the things that I struggle with is that some ethnic foods here just aren’t very good and by not very good I mean downright awful!

Take hummus for example, I have always eaten hummus and to me it is a common thing to have in the fridge or to see in the shops, over here you would think we were dealing some far more rarefied beast all together.

A lot of shops just don’t stock it at all and those that do sell this bland flavourless muck that seems to have taken hummus hostage someplace and is masquerading in its place. You do come across some pretty good homemade, organic hummus at farmers markets etc but you had better popped to the bank first as you will need deep pockets to afford any.

So it is a good thing that I make my own, here is what you will need:

400g tin of chickpeas

4 cloves of garlic

juice of 1 lemon

2tbsp of Tahini (sesame seed paste)

1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

 

Drain the chickpeas and place into a blender along with all of the other ingredients, blitz them all together until you have a nice smooth paste.

And there we have it, hummus,  I fail to see why some people think that this quick, easy and cheap dip should carry a price tag of €4/5 for 150g.

This hummus will keep for about 3 days in the fridge but I would be surprised if it ever lasted that long!

Actions

Information

One response

1 11 2010
GP

Maaake meeeee foooooooood ❤

Leave a Reply

