Another beer :)

17 09 2010

Having bottled my first ever homebrew last Sunday my fermenter was sitting looking empty and sad 😥

Luckily though this was just a temporary period of inactivity as my next batch of beer was only a day away.

The week before I had been sitting there contemplating the lager bubbling away in my fermenter and had thought to myself that if I was going to keep on track with my plan for all of my festive drinks to be of a homebrewed variety that I really needed to get cracking and minimise the downtime between brews.

So I ordered up a couple more kits and also another 40 odd bottles as there is no way all of the lager will be drunk by the time I need to bottle my next batch.

The choice of kits available is really quite large and I will readily admit that I did spend somewhere in the region of 4 hours trying to work out what I wanted to go with; in the end I settled on a Coopers Brewmaster IPA which I would be making using predominately spray malt instead of sugar and Woodfordes Norfolk Nog which is all malt and as such wont need any extra fermentables to be added at all.

I am taking a little bit of a risk with the Nog and I will tell you why; having lived fairly close to the Woodforde’s brewery when I was back home in the UK I have had the opportunity to try 95% of the beers that they have produced including of course Norfolk Nog.

Now on the one hand this is a good thing as I know how it should taste, on the other hand it is a bit of a problem as I know how it should taste… Whilst I’m sure that it will turn out to be very close to the original and be very drinkable I do worry that it is going to have a taste to it that doesn’t fit with how I know it should taste. Well nothing ventured nothing gained as they say!

The Coopers IPA is now in the fermenter and is bubbling away nicely at about 24 degrees in the end I added 500g of light spray malt and 300g of dextrose. I had been going to go with all spray malt but a few forums were listed as saying that this combination works out to be a more traditional tasting IPA.

It should hopefully be ready to bottle by Monday so I am keeping my fingers crossed that it turns out as well as people are suggesting it should.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

