Bottling day cometh

13 09 2010

Yesterday was quite a fun day for me; I got up in the morning and made bread nom nom nom and then after eating the bread went home and set about bottling my beer.

For anyone who didn’t read my homebrew post earlier this week (if not why not?) I brewed my own beer for the first time last Monday evening.

I have been watching over my beer like an anxious mother hen, checking it’s temperature, making sure it is snuggled up at night and of course taking hydrometer readings.

For those who aren’t in the know a hydrometer allows you to measure the specific gravity of a liquid, in this case my beer.

It started out at roughly 1050 on Monday evening and as of Yesterday had been sitting at 1008 since Friday when I got in from work.

Not only is it good that the SG has been static for 2 days as it means that the fermentation has more or less complete it also means that my little beer is going to be near as damn it 6% 🙂

I had a little taste of the beer and my conclusions are that it looks, smells and tastes like beer! Not a bad start.

So I rinsed out all of the bottles that were provided (44 50cl plastic bottles with caps) primed them with the carbonation drops and filled those suckers up!

Now I just need to wait, two long weeks at the least 😦

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

