Letting my geek flag fly

22 07 2010

Ever since she has known me my girlfriend has had to listen to me waffle on at length about a whole plethora of geeky things, one of the most geeky being my 20 year plus love of Warhammer, Blood Bowl, 40k and wargaming in general.

She has been shown a selection of miniatures that I am particularly proud of and has heard me expound at length about the many positive aspects of the hobby and how much fun it is.

At xmas when we were on holiday in the UK, I dragged her into the Oxford branch of Games Workshop and she had to endure over an hour in the store complete with painting tutorial (she painted me a gandalf model from the LOTR range) whilst I tried out the newest set of rules to 40k and slowly realised that I was so off the pace these days that I wasn’t even in the race anymore.

Stoically she sat and smiled politely whilst I regaled the youngster (in a relative sense of the word)
with tales of when my White Dwarf subscription was £2.25 a month and when you could buy a squad of Space Marine Terminators without having to take out a new mortgage.

I think that something from that day and my many rambling diatribes about the joy of gaming must have sunk in as a couple of weeks ago I was presented with my anniversary present about 6 weeks early…

What was it you ask?

A Citadel paint set and a box of Uruk Hai 😀

Well of course I set about trimming models off of sprues and undercoating and all of the many other things that will make the heart of a grizzled old Warhammer vet glow with joy.

It was like the first time many years ago when I was sat at my uncle’s dining room table liberally applying thick coat after thick coat of gloopy paint to a High Elf spearman (I still have that first ever effort to this day). I was hooked all over again.

As soon as I got home that evening I decided to dust off a particularly fine Necromancer miniature from Reaper that I had purchased at the Orc’s Nest nearly 2 years ago in the mistake belief that we were going to be starting up our D&D evenings again.

It feels good to be back

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 07 2010
22 07 2010
Garden Pheenix

It’s like I have reintroduced you to the hardcore crack you gave up! It’s also rather fun, even if the only part that truly interests me is the basing… and the fantastical idea I’ve had of making my own LOTR Warhammer chess board. Also, there are more minis waiting here for you.

❤

26 07 2010
Tom Webster

The chess set idea is a nice one, just a little bit of difficulty on what you would use as a queen for the bad dudes, shelob is the only overtly female baddy that springs to mind

19 08 2010
flights rhodes

ahhhhhh very good, bookmarked 🙂 keep it up, JusyKassy. http://www.flightsrhodes.org

Leave a Reply

