STFU about your gear score

6 07 2010

I asked a guy for an invite to a Naxx 10 man last night, he had been shouting out looking for DPS for about 20 mins and I thought hey I have some time why not.

The first thing he asked me was am  I/can I hit over 2k DPS and did I have time to run the instance in full. Well it was  a yes to both of those without any hesitation on my part.

He sent me an invite and there I was ready to go, not 3 minutes later though I got a whisper back to me – Sorry I am gonna have to boot you. So of course I asked him why this was, bearing in mind he had been shouting out looking for DPS of all things for over 20 mins, the answer?

My Gearscore…. He only wanted people on the raid with a GS of more than 2500, I decided to challenge him on this to find out exactly why he felt this way and what he was hoping to achieve.

Apparently if I didnt have a GS of at least 2500 I was a noob who was wasting his time and would make the raid fail, boy did I laugh at that.

I had a little look at his gearscore just out of interest, it turns out that yes indeed he was over 2500 however none of his gear was really working together, instead he had just whacked on a jumble of armour, trinkets etc that would give him the highest GS.

He was the MT for the group and yet was wearing an epic helm that gave spirit and int as stats solely because it had a decent level, none of his armour or his weapons were enchanted and he only had 3 pieces that gave stamina as there main stat.

By comparison my noobish gear of shittyness which only gave me a paltry 1.7 gs is all giving bonuses to strength, crit, stam and  hit.

I have enchanted everything I can with appropriate enchants giving boosts to my strength, crit, ap etc oh and I spend big amounts of gold socketing appropriate epic level gems.

Despite the fact that he was the main tank and I am just some noob fool who doesn’t respect the might of GS I had over 2k more health unbuffed then he did, I would be interested to see if he could even survive Naxx as MT let alone hold aggro without any issues etc etc.

This isn’t an isolated incident, everywhere you look people are bleating on about GS this and gearscore that as if it was the sole purpose of playing the game.

Sure having good gear can be an indicator of some being a good player or not but you are equally as likely to get owned by someone who isnt obsessed by their GS and actually focuses on playing.

I think some people forget that there were still kickass players around long before GS was a twinkling in some fat nerd’s myopic eyes. It’s a tool, granted it has it’s uses but it is still just a tool.

Unfortunately it’s user base seem to have a lot in common with it, they too are tools

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 07 2010
rowan

Wow, aweseme. My kind of post. I would hope that there weresome way to block that stuff from Blizzard’s end. I know they are aware of the potential issue, given the “epeen” stat they joked about on April 1. There is another stat score at wow-heroes .com (sp?) that takes enchants and such into account, overall the scale is about half the GS scale. But what you say is true, too many players are getting wrapped around their GS and ignoring things like appropriate stats, etc.

12 07 2010
Tom Webster

It is just one giant Epeen stroke, the ridiculous thing is that even the tards that are living their lives by this gs bs are getting things wrong… some of them are asking for GS and some of them are asking for the WH score.

The score I was requested to give was the wow heroes score which apparently was too low (even though it turns out it would have been over 4k gearscore)

The real kicker of it is that raid then wiped 3 times before everyone quit (a friend was healing on it) the so called leet player with his awesome gear couldn’t hold aggro on trash mobs let alone any bosses, turns out he had his account powerleveled to 80 by mogs and hadn’t a clue how to play!!!

Leave a Reply

