The wait is over :)

11 06 2010

It’s been 4 years but the wait is over.

The World Cup is here again; normally I avoid writing anything about football (soccer for our colonial cousins) as normally the discussions spiral round and round and round about who is signing who or which player/team/coach etc is the best…yawn

But I am genuinely excited about  the World Cup, I always have been since I was a child and watched Italia 90 at home.

I am always more than a little amused at myself as it is also the only time that I have any vaguely patriotic feelings at all about the UK.

It is strange I go through life feeling a generally pleasant ambivalence to the country of my birth but then every 4 years I suddenly feel this unfamiliar pang of pride and anticipation.

Maybe it is nothing more than the fact that England is the birthplace of the modern game (some claim the game full stop) and even though we get humbled at it quite regularly we did succeed in giving the world one of the few genuinely unifying things that it has; 22 men kicking an inflated bladder around.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

