Where have all the raiders gone?

2 06 2010

Well I’ve been back in the World of Warcraft for a little while now and have managed to reach level 67 so far, some people might call this rate of progress almost casual but I really don’t mind, I’m just enjoying the ride!

I knew before I even set foot back into the game that things would have changed and moved on, some for the better for the worse, in particular I expected to see a lot of changing as a result of Wrath of the Lich King and the new level cap being that much higher.

Well I wasn’t wrong, most of the new features serve to make the game better and even more accesible than it previously was, especially as the dungeon finder now means that some people that never would have had a chance to run some of the instances can now pug up and run them to their hearts content.

Their are a coupleof negatives though, the aforementioned dungeon finder has given rise to far more of the also aforementioned pugs (pick up groups) anyone who has read any of my previous diatribes will be familiar with my dislike for pugs so I will not go into it again here suffice to say that if you have only ever grouped with pugs then you are missing out.

The other big problem is one that probably will not bother the vast majority of people but certainly manges to irritate me.

Very few if any people are running the classic raids anymore.

Now I realise that whenever there is a new expansion it’s all about the new end game content and that maybe you see the point of running raids to get gear that can be replaced from random world drops in a mere 2 or 3 levels time.

But you miss out on so much of the game if you ignore the older raids, not only is the content great, the gear (if obtained at the level it’s intended for) is very good and they are just fun!

Not to mention the fact that if you leave out the raids then you miss out on big hits of xp points which are certainly a refreshing change to grinding mobs or running the same dungeons time and again.

That’s why I have decided to twink my mage, I am going to take him through to 60 and leave him there, maybe not forever but certainly for long enough that I get to experience all of the original end game content as it was meant to be played, not as some level 80 DK that’s been summoned into an instance for a laugh.

When I have done 60 I will move on to 70 and do exactly the same all over agai.

Now all I need to do is find 24 friends with similar ideas….

Actions

Information

One response

2 06 2010
Living in the past or where have all the raiders gone? | rssblogstory.com

[…] author: gaming « WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

Leave a Reply

