Death Noobs

1 06 2010

I am noticing a little bit of a trend starting to emerge.

Anytime I am using the dungeon finder I am winding up in groups that are literally rammed full of Death Knights or as I have taken to thinking of them Death Noobs or maybe Knoobs, either way they still blow.

Now let me just start by stating that I don’t have an agenda against DKs as a class, I think the idea is actually quite appealing (I have a DK myself).

The problem comes from the fact that they can quite literally ruin a group if played poorly; I need to clarify on this:

A lot of new DK players assume that just because they wear plate and can tank that this is what they should be doing, it doesn’t matter if they have only ever played a mage or hunter or anything else for that matter there are a huge number of new DK players who think lets go tank.

This would be fine if they weren’t thrown into tanking instances such as Blood Furnace or Hellfire Ramparts. Whilst these aren’t difficult instances to tank (I am ret specced but have been able to tank both of these easily several times) they do require that you have some idea about what you are doing

I have been subject to far more deaths and wipes when it is a DK that is tanking than I have in all other dungeons and instances combined!

There are a number of common faults that I have noticed; pulling mobs when healers are mana burnt, grabbing large numbers of mobs and not holding them and of course my favourite: failnig to hold aggro and then blaming me and everyone else for having DPS that is too high.

Until this point I honestly hadn’t realised that it was possible for a DPS class to have too much DPS

It honestly seems like all of the fools who were previously giving hunters and rogues a bad name have migrated over to the DK class. I think one od the best examples I have seen was just yesterday evening, we were running Mana Tombs for what must be my 15th time now, there was a nice rare shield that dropped and the DK rolled need on it.

He won it and when asked why he rolled need on it he replied because he is a tank, normally an argument that holds a lot of water, but DKs CAN’T USE SHIELDS!?!?!

It would be exactly the same as if I rolled on a bow, wand, dagger etc it’s not even that they aren’t the best I just cannot use them and would look like a fool for rolling on them. I’m level 67 at the moment and by now it is expected (indeed I hold the same expectation) that you at least know the basics of how to play your class.
So please if you are a Death Knoob and happen to be reading this (assuming you can read!) then please please please learn how to play your class before chucking yourself into higher level content for which you aren’t ready. Look at it this way would you take a level 40 hunter that you had never played as before and think hey I know what would be the best thing for me to try first Zul Farrak…of course you wouldnt, but then again maybe you would!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 06 2010
how much should i weigh

hey whats your myspace page.

24 06 2010
Tom Webster

Unfortunately I don’t use Myspace these days 😦

Leave a Reply

