I hate my job

3 05 2010

so it is 7 am and I am in work.

Nothing new there you might think, I am always in work at 7 am, quite often writing these blogs!

Well today is different it is the May bank holiday and as such there are only 3 people in the office and of course I am one of them, not only that but I have been told I have to work overtime.

This wouldn’t be a huge problem to me normally, in fact it isn’t really getting in the way of any plans today but it is the principal that is bothering me.

You see I was also here on Good Friday and Easter Monday, before that I was here on St Patrick’s Day, same for New Year’s Day, St Stephen’s day (boxing day back home) and Christmas Eve; in fact I haven’t had a bank holiday off since January 2008 .

I don’t want to sound bitter but some of my colleagues get every stinking bank holiday off and a whole bunch of public holidays that we don’t even really have an entitlement to.

When I have quizzed this in the past I have been told that it is because they are married or have kids etc. Well this argument unravels a little bit when you take into account that I have a longterm partner and she has a kid.

Geewizz I didn’t realise I was working for the Catholic Church here, at least their draconian views have some sort of historical precedent.

Happy fucking May Day

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 05 2010
Tweets that mention I hate my job « "And now for something completely different…" -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tom Webster. Tom Webster said: I hate my job: http://wp.me/pR2pD-3w […]

3 05 2010
Her Idealisticness

You have to love being penalized for not fitting into the mold. I am sure neither of you feel marginalized or dismissed for not fitting their tidy little expectation of what family is. Fuckers.

3 05 2010
Tom Webster

Oh but of course not, there is nothing I find more wonderful then being told that I am less valid in my choices then others because I haven’t got a piece of paper from the church.

Leave a Reply

