ASSociated content

3 05 2010

Those of you that have been paying attention will remember that a little while ago I decided to see if there was any real benefit in joining up to a paid to write site such as suite 101 or Associated Content.

Well I joined up with AC and published a selection of reviews, guides, informative pieces etc on there. I also made sure that the same articles were published to my blog  so that I could compare the number of views that I received for one vs the other.

When I looked at things a couple of weeks ago it wasn’t great but I decided to soldier on; I can now confirm that it is completely pointless, at least for me.

In total I have had 230 views on AC approximately, the figures for the latest day are estimates, the same articles on this very blog have had over 700 hits during the same space of time!

I just wonder how this can possibly be beneficial to me? I need 5x the number of views before I would get anything out of AC and then it would be a measly $1.50, that isn’t even enough for a can of coke.

Some people might think that this would work for them and it might, but you would have to be churning out articles at a rapid pace, plus there is nothing about using AC that would help you improve as a writer.

Sure your articles are looked at by a “reviewer” to ensure that they are suitable but this is only the 1st three articles that you submit, after that you can post what you like when you like. Also these reviews of your work that are carried out are nothing more than checking to make sure that you have bunged in as many keywords as it possible in order to assist with SEO.

I never once received a single useful comment as you would from an actual human editor, I even threw in a few deliberate spelling and grammar errors in order to see if I would be pulled up on this by anyone, not a chance.

To top it all off I received an email from AC yesterday stating that it was very important.

So of course I read it, turns out that due to some tax mumbo jumbo in the states they can now only make a pay out to foreign contributors if they are one of their “featured contributors”; however from what I can see this is like sitting on top of the dung heap, sure you are on top but you are still sitting in a pile of shit.

Personally I would have to say that this experiment of mine has been a failure and I would say that if you are looking to get your foot in the door as a writer this certainly isn’t the best way to go about it.

Get yourself a good blog going instead 😉

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 05 2010
Tweets that mention ASSociated content « "And now for something completely different…" -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tom Webster. Tom Webster said: ASSociated content: http://wp.me/pR2pD-3C […]

3 05 2010
goldcrafting

I also checked out this website, but my experiment only lasted one article. As it stands now they owe me an estimated .22 cents.

4 05 2010
Tom Webster

That’s the stupid thing about it, I worked out that based on how many views each article receives and the fact that you need 1000 views before there is any pay out I would need to write upwards of 20 articles a day in order to make $100 a month.

If I compare that to the revenue you can make from adsense or the $500 for 2500 words that cracked.com pay I know what I will be doing!!

Leave a Reply

