Ash Cloud Blues pt 2 – The Aftermath

26 04 2010

Having finally made it back home I have today made my somewhat less than triumphant return to work.

You would think that this would be pretty unremarkable, thousands of people do this everyday all over the world and certainly compared to the journey to and from home it is unremarkable.

But there is a problem; I opened my outlook account and there in front of me were 784 emails ?!?!? WTF I was only gone from work for 5 business days.

Then I realised what had happened, it only took me the first dozen or so emails to work it out…none of my co-workers did anything whilst I was away.

Now I don’t mean that there was work that was specifically mine and they didn’t do it, that would be fine. I mean they did nothing, nada, zilch, zip.

We have access to a shared inbox that all new work requests come through to, none had been taken since I had left the office, some had even been marked with a little flag saying “Tom”….Well I opened them and had a look and guess what there was NOTHING that required  my personal attention, every single last one of my co-workers could have dealt with all of the emails that were in there.

I guess in summary I only have one thing to say on the matter

My co-workers are all giant douche bags of the highest order

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 04 2010
flip5577

Well, this looks like a good sign of job security for you… And grounds for hiring an entire new department (besides yourself of course).

27 04 2010
Tom Webster

Trust me if i had my way there would be a mass cull in the carpark!

Leave a Reply

