My paid writing experiment Part 2

6 04 2010

I’m now roughly a week or so into my little paid to write experiment with Associated Content and I thought I would give an update as to how I am progressing with it.

I now have 6 pieces of “content” uploaded and approved, this in itself was very tiem consuming; the first 3 items are all reviewed by an “editor” and it can take them up to 2 weeks in order to for them to complete this approval process.

Once the first 3 items have been approved it does speed up a bit as they then allow you to post articles without prior approval and they seem to be ok unless there are any complaints regarding them etc.

So far so good, however what of the real meat of the issue; am I getting views, will I get paid.

The 6 articles that I have published so far have attracted some views; a mighty 68 views to be precise.

This maybe doesn’t sound that bad but please remember that unless there are at least 1000 views on a particular article, I wont get paid and even if I do it will be $1.50 or £.80 as it will be for me.

If I compare those 6 articles performance on my blog during that time they have over 400 views between them. The worrying thing about this is that Associated Content syndicates out the articles that you write to various different news sites and article repositories; as such the chances of a search engine query hitting something from them are quite high.

In short I’m not quite convinced as of yet as to it’s usefulness, at least for me. For some people this might be exactly what they are looking for and they might have the time and inclination to churn out the 100’s of articles that you would probably need in order to start making any money from them.

But I’m not finished yet, I promised that I would keep this up for 2 months and that is exactly what I am going to do

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

