Pugtastic, or why I hate random groups

2 04 2010

I have written recently about my return to playing world of warcraft and about my struggle to find a class that I wanted to play, eventually settling on a Ret Pally.

Well things have been ticking along quite nicely for Curadane and , I have cut a swath of destruction through Eversong Woods and the Ghostlands and have now made my way through to  Durotar.

I was sitting at level 22 so thought that I would have a look at the dungeon finder and have a quick spin through Rage Fire Chasm and some of the other lower level dungeons.

I must say I was quite impressed with the dungeon finder, I specified what dungeons I was interested in and said that I would be happy to play as a tank or a healer and literally 1 or 2 minutes later there I was in RFC.

However this is where my pleasure ended.

In hindsight I should have listened to my instincts and stayed away from PUGs  like they were carrying rabies.

Everything went badly, we had a hunter who couldn’t control his pet at all and as such kept pulling every mob within sight back to the party, we had a priest who walked off to get a sandwich leaving us without any heals (I was tanking at the time),  we had ninja raiders who were needing anything and everything that dropped and then quitting out of the instance.

I thought that maybe I was being uncharitable and that perhaps RFC wasn’t the best instance to base things on, so it was off to Shadowfang Keep to see if that would do anything to change my mind… to cut a long story short it didn’t, I played with 3 separate groups and all of them were as flawed as one another.

This poses me with a little bit of problem; as I choose to play on Boulderfist there are a disproportionately more lower level players and also less guilds, so the chances to finding a guild I like, with players that are around my level and yet experienced enough to be decent are quite slim.

So my question is this: do I keep trying to do the right thing and play fairly and with integrity and just suck it up that the majority of groups are going to be pugs and are going to suck balls… OR do I decide to let loose and indulge the little bit of me that wishes I was the ninja raider or the player who joins a group completes the quest they want to do and then heads to the hills leaving people in the lurch.

I don’t think I have much of a choice really, I know what I think of the second type of player, so I will soldier on being nice and fair to one and all.

Still doesn’t change the fact that pugs are awful though.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2010
twilie

Thankfully I have been extremely lucky on my server, I have found many good ppl in instances who later become friends and we help each other with quests, and to top it off I found a wonderful trusting guild of which I now run the guild bank. I would say to you stay hopeful and if all else fails join the nordrassil server and check my blog and look at the pics of my main horde char to find out the name of a lovely helpful guild 😀 were not a raiding guild or anything, just a nice little wow family that chat from time to time an help eachother out when we ask 😀

25 04 2010
Tom Webster

Yeah it has been crossing my mind a lot recently to just jump ship and get over to a more established server, I think I will be spending a lot of time on boulderfist waiting for the general populance to mature in game before I start finding decent groups!

Leave a Reply

