My “paid to write” experiment

30 03 2010

Recently I have been musing more and more on the subject of freelance writing.

In the past I have written a few articles for some local papers, contributed to a couple of websites and even gone so far as to write reviews for a restaurant guide; all of this went relatively well for me and so I have been toying with the idea of writing on a more regular basis.

Part of this musing is down to the fact that I had a couple of article ideas that I really wanted to get down on paper (or on screen to be more precise) so I threw my ideas together and managed to cobble together the two articles in question.

Armed with my work and large amounts of enthusiasm I contacted a couple of websites that had previously expressed a liking for my work; now to cut a long story short one of the articles was usable and the other wasn’t really finding any interest.

I didn’t want to just scrap it as I rather like it and writing it caused me to reconsider a few of my own views on certain subjects, so I was trying to work out what to do with it and was about to file it away for possible later use when a friend of mine told me about a site that he had recently signed up to called suite 101.

The premise behind it is quite simple, you can write about more or less anything you want and they will “publish” your work to their site, if people like it and you get views, you get paid.

in other words you are “paid to write” now at $1.50 per 1000 views very few people, if anyone, is ever going to make a living off of this sort of thing… but I will admit I was intrigued.

I decided against Suite 101 after I read their Terms and Conditions which basically stated that whilst I had my content up with them that I couldn’t display it anywhere else. Now this didn’t really sit right with me after all I might wish to pop it up on my blog for example or continue trying to sell it elsewhere.

A little bit of digging has thrown up an alternative site called Associate Content which runs on basically the same principles as Suite 101 but is a little more forgiving with regards your rights as a writer.

So I have decided to give it a go, I am really rather skeptical of the whole idea but at the same time it has tweaked my interest.

I have decided to approach the whole thing as an experiment, I am going to publish content to AC as often as I can during a 3 month period of time. In theory if it works as advertised I should possibly even see some revenue from this (not that I am expecting more than $2/3 during this time)

I am going to be keeping track of my progress here on my blog and hopefully it might help answer some other people’s questions in relation to this.

If anyone has any experience of dealing with any of these paid to write sites it would be great to hear your feedback so please get in touch and remember to subscribe in order to keep up to date with how things are going

*If anyone wants to see my work on AC then click here to have a look*

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

